Are narutomaki gluten free?

Are narutomaki gluten free?

Narutomaki (鳴門巻き/なると巻き), also called naruto (ナルト/なると), are a type of Japanese fish cake. Known for their cloudy white background and pink swirls, you’ll find these fish cakes in ramen, noodle dishes, and many types of Japanese veggie stews. Unlike Korean fish cakes, naruto are often gluten free!

These little fishcakes are used in ramens and stews because they provide an accent of bright pink and white to help set off the otherwise beige dishes. They have a springy bite, mild fish scent, and light umami flavor that works particularly well with salty and chewy ramen.


Ramen from Volkan Kaçmaz via Unsplash

Naruto are named after the Naruto whirlpools in the Naruto Strait. Every 6 hours or so, the tide moves large amounts of water in the area between Naruto and Awaji island, creating a large whirlpool. The pink swirl of the fishcake on a jagged white background represents the strong current of the whirlpool.

Narutomaki Ingredients

The ingredients in naruto are: white fish, egg white, mirin, salt, sugar, and sometimes a bit of starch. All of these ingredients are naturally gluten free. If starch is included in the recipe, it’s most often corn starch or potato starch, which are both safe for celiacs. However, some brands will cut corners and use wheat flour instead, so it’s always best to check the ingredients first!

Narutomaki Recipes

For the freshest option, you can make narutomaki yourself! In addition to definitely being gluten free, this will allow you to control the amount of sugar and salt, so it’s more customized to your tastes.


Naruto recipe from Masterclass

* Title image courtesy of Trip Advisor.

- Further Reading -