What is gluten?
Gluten is the colloquial name for the prolamin proteins gliadin and glutenin, found in wheat and triticale, hordein proteins found in barley, and secalin proteins found in rye.
Hot pot is a method of tableside cooking that involves by dipping raw ingredients into a flavorful broth. Common ingredients for dipping and simmering include thinly sliced meats, vegetables, fish balls, and noodles.
Sacred Serve is a brand of plant-based gelato made from young Thai coconut meat. Each flavor includes superfood ingredients, because the..
White pepper is an ingredient that I consume often in Vietnamese food, but it wasn’t until I checked my friend’s spice drawer that I..
Huitlacoche is a type of corn that’s been overtaken by the fungus Ustilago maydis. The fungus makes the kernals swell and become mushroom-like,..
The Snacklins company makes vegan pork rind alternatives that are somehow both delicious and healthy. Besides being vegan, the snacks are gluten free,..
Garaetteok (가래떡), also known as garae-tteok, or just tteok, are a type of Korean rice cake. Tteok are used in dishes like tteokbokki (떡볶이), a popular..
Falooda is a sweet beverage consisting of vermicelli noodles, rose syrup, hydrated sweet basil seeds, milk, and ice cream (kulfi). Falooda is usually..
Eomuk (어묵) are a style of fish cake that’s popular in Korea. Unfortunately, most eomuk are NOT gluten free. Korean fish cakes almost always..
Kahlua and other coffee liqueurs are used in drinks like espresso martinis, mudslides, and white Russians. Most coffee liqueurs are gluten free..
Birthday Cake Bites from Drizzilicious are mini rice cakes with a sweet birthday cake flavor. They’re certified gluten free, vegan, kosher, soy..
Worcestershire sauce is sometimes gluten free, but this will depend largely on its country of origin. We’ll explain why this is the case below.