Is ssamjang gluten free?

Is ssamjang gluten free?

Ssamjang (쌈장) is a thick, spicy Korean sauce that’s typically served with grilled meats, herbs, and lettuce to wrap each bite. Ssamjang is not gluten free, because it’s made of a mixture that includes gochujang and doenjang, both of which contain gluten.

Besides gochujang and doenjang, ssamjang also includes green onions, toasted sesame oil, sugar, and garlic. This makes for a really delicious companion to the meats and fresh veg when served ssam-style. You can easily make your own ssamjang at home with some basic Korean ingredients. There are also a few gluten free premade options.


Ssamjang spread from Taste Cooking

If you make gluten free Korean food at home, you probably already have gf versions of gochujang and doenjang, making this super easy to substitute. You could use miso as a sub for doenjang in a pinch, but gochujang is pretty necessary here. Take a look at our gochujang article for quick recipes if you can’t find any gf options near you.

Buy Gluten Free Ssamjang

Premade gluten free ssamjang is slightly more difficult to find than either gf gochujang or doenjang. O Foods and Jinmi used to have gluten free ssamjang options, but neither is currently available anywhere online. If this changes, I’ll make sure to update this list. Perhaps you can still find these options in some stores!

Gluten Free Ssamjang Recipes

To make ssamjang gluten free, all you need to do is sub out the gochujang and doenjang for gluten free options. From there, the recipes can be customized to your heart’s content. If you’re looking to cut down on sugar, making your own ssamjang is a good idea.


Korean ssamjang from Spruce Eats

* Title image courtesy of Bon Appetit.

- Further Reading -