Nami Nori is a NYC-based temaki bar specializing in open-style sushi hand rolls (they look like little sushi tacos). They also have Japanese-inspired snacks and appetizers, along with a selection of beer, sake and wine.
Makgeolli (막걸리) is a delicious Korean beer that’s brewed from rice. It’s also called takju (탁주; 濁酒) or nongju (농주; 農酒).
Updated October 2023 Oatly is gluten free in the US, but it’s not gluten free elsewhere in the world because different oats are used in..
Pastila (пастила́) is a Russian confection made from fruit, usually apples. It’s entirely gluten and dairy free, but it’s made with egg..
Sorghum is an underappreciated gluten free grain in the West, in my opinion. It’s one of my favorite flours to use in baked goods, because the..
Gochujang (고추장) is a Korean fermented chili paste that’s sweet, spicy, sour, and salty. Most gochujang is not gluten free, but it’s..
The short answer is that malt vinegar may be safe for some with gluten intolerance, because the gluten proteins have been broken down by multiple..
Most licorice candy is not gluten free, because it contains wheat flour. But there are quite a few gluten free options!
Sourdough made from gluten-containing flours is not gluten free. But you can make great gluten free bread with a gluten free sourdough starter.
Glucose syrup made from wheat is gluten free because it’s been highly processed. All glucose is considered gluten free because the proteins have..
Psyllium husk is an ingredient you might not be familiar with, but it’s a great addition for gluten free baking. Psyllium is produced from the..
Rice is a common base for drinks and ferments in many different countries. It’s cheap, semi-nutritious, sweet, and tasty. It’s also gluten..