Gluten is the colloquial name for the prolamin proteins gliadin and glutenin, found in wheat and triticale, hordein proteins found in barley, and secalin proteins found in rye.
The Snacklins company makes vegan pork rind alternatives that are somehow both delicious and healthy. Besides being vegan, the snacks are gluten free, grain free, kosher, soy free, non-GMO, and nut free.
Garaetteok (가래떡), also known as garae-tteok, or just tteok, are a type of Korean rice cake. Tteok are used in dishes like tteokbokki (떡볶이), a popular..
Falooda is a sweet beverage consisting of vermicelli noodles, rose syrup, hydrated sweet basil seeds, milk, and ice cream (kulfi). Falooda is usually..
Eomuk (어묵) are a style of fish cake that’s popular in Korea. Unfortunately, most eomuk are NOT gluten free. Korean fish cakes almost always..
Kahlua and other coffee liqueurs are used in drinks like espresso martinis, mudslides, and white Russians. Most coffee liqueurs are gluten free..
Birthday Cake Bites from Drizzilicious are mini rice cakes with a sweet birthday cake flavor. They’re certified gluten free, vegan, kosher, soy..
Worcestershire sauce is sometimes gluten free, but this will depend largely on its country of origin. We’ll explain why this is the case below.
Cassava is a gluten free root that’s called many things: manioc, mandioca, yuca, tapioca, and other regional names. Tapioca starch is just a..
If you’ve eaten much Brazilian food, you’re probably aware of the side dish called farofa. It’s a savory, crunchy sprinkle made from..
Bonito flakes are shavings of katsuobushi (かつおぶし, 鰹節), which is skipjack tuna that’s been filleted, simmered, smoked, fermented, and dried. This..
Baileys Irish cream combines the flavors of chocolate, cream, and Irish whiskey with a secret blend of spices. It’s not dairy free, but it is..